Current Articles | Search

Awards to recognise women in local government

22 Dec 2017

Member for Murray Austin Evans is calling on communities across the Murray electorate to nominate women councillors and council staff for the 2018 Ministers' Awards for Women in Local Government.  Mr Evans said the awards recognise the hard work and imaginative ideas women bring to council and community achievements.  "Women in Local Government provide inspiration and hard work that make a genuine difference to the people in their community," he said.  "They deserve recognition and to have their contributions publicly applauded.

"I'm encouraging people in the community to nominate a female councillor or female member of the council staff who they feel has made a significant contribution to their council and community's overall successes."  The annual awards, now in their 11th year, are a joint initiative between Local Government Minister Gabrielle Upton and Minister for Women Tanya Davies to recognise the achievements of women in metropolitan and regional/rural councils.

Ms Upton said the awards provided a chance to officially recognise the vital role women played in creating stronger councils and enhancing the amenity of their local community.  "The awards acknowledge the positive work of senior staff and elected representatives as well as women making a difference behind the scenes and trail-blazing women in non-traditional roles," she said.

The award categories are:

*            Elected representative (including councillors and mayors)

*            Senior Staff Member

*            Non-Senior Staff Member

*            Women in non-traditional roles

*            Traineeships/apprentices.

Nominations close on December 21.

The awards will be presented at a function to celebrate International Women's Day at Parliament House in Sydney on March 7 2018.

Full details of the categories and how to make a nomination are on the Office of Local Government website

Previous Page | Next Page

Contacting Council

Office: 56 Chanter Street, Berrigan.
Office hours are 8.00 am to 5.00 pm
Monday to Friday.
(03) 5888 5100
(03) 5885 2092
Post: Berrigan Shire Council
56 Chanter Street
Login | |