Current Articles | Search | Syndication

Barooga Cricket Club


Further on last weeks feature on the Tocumwal Cricket Club I came across some details about the Barooga Cricket Club in the book Barooga and Districts Yesterday and Today.

“In 1911 a feeble attempt was made to form a cricket club but for want of funds and the apparent impossibility of raising them, the matter has been dropped.  We can only afford to buy fishing rods over here now and wait for the closed season to end”  Quote taken from the Finley Free Press and Tocumwal Guardian.

The Cricket Club was eventually formed about 1927-1928

The two photos are off the 1931-32 premiership winners of Goulburn Valley Cricket Association and the 1982-1983 Murray Valley Cricket Association premiers.

1931-2: back; J Hodgens, J Bellis, W Wilton (Captain) Bill Nicholson, J Russell, Leigh Burkinshaw

Front; Steward Alcorn, Bill McGowan, J Clements, G Barnett (Vice Captain) JJ Russell (Wicket Keeper)

1982-3: back; D Woods, S Brooks, J Bruce, I Doherty, K Stewart, G Cameron

Front; C Allemand, B Brooks, S Maddox (Captain), S O’Dwyer, G Toohey.


Contacting Council

Office: 56 Chanter Street, Berrigan.
Office hours are 8.00 am to 5.00 pm
Monday to Friday.
(03) 5888 5100
(03) 5885 2092
Post: Berrigan Shire Council
56 Chanter Street
Login | |