Current Articles | Search | Syndication

Barooga Boy Scouts and Girl Guides


Barooga Boy Scouts was formed in 1958 with D Guthrie as leader and twelve boys as initial members. These were P Quinane, C Seigel, K Mansell, M Keamy, J Frazer, P Johnson, R O’Callaghan, G Slater, J Walker, M Steward and F Brown. In those days they were registered in Victoria under the Murray Valley Scouts Group.

In 1969 the Headquarters of Scouting in both Victoria and NSW agreed the administration of Barooga should be done from Sydney. They were transferred from Victoria and registered as Murray Scouts Group. 1969 was also a big year for Barooga as they got their own hall.

A year earlier in 1968 Barooga Cubs commenced operation under the Leadership of Elaine Evans. Ten years later, in 1978, a Guides and Brownies pack also commenced in Barooga.


Contacting Council

Office: 56 Chanter Street, Berrigan.
Office hours are 8.00 am to 5.00 pm
Monday to Friday.
(03) 5888 5100
(03) 5885 2092
Post: Berrigan Shire Council
56 Chanter Street
Login | |