

EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING

Held on Wednesday 20 September, 2023 at 9:00am

Council Chambers, 56 Chanter Street, Berrigan



Minutes



Extraordinary Council Meeting

Wednesday 20 September, 2023

MINUTES

The Extraordinary Council Meeting of the Shire of Berrigan held in the Council Chambers, 56 Chanter Street, Berrigan, on Wednesday 20 September, 2023 when the following business was considered:-

ITEMS OF BUSINESS

1	OPENING OF MEETING		3
2	ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY		
APOLOGIES AND APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE OR ATTENDANCE VIA A VISUAL LINK BY COUNCILLORS			4
	3.1	Apologies/Leave of Absence	4
	3.2	Attendance Via Audio-Visual Link	4
4	DISCLOSU	RES OF INTEREST	4
5	REPORTS TO COUNCIL		4
	5.1	Mayor's report	4
	5.2	Chief Executive Officer's report	4
	5.3	Returning Officer's report	5
	5.4	Election of Mayor	5
	5.5	Election of Deputy Mayor	5
	5.6	Delegates to committees	6
6	CONCLUSI	ON OF MEETING	7



Present:

Councillors:

Matthew Hannan (Mayor), Carly Marriott (Deputy Mayor), Edward (Ted) Hatty, Julia Cornwell McKean, Sarah McNaught, Renee Paine and John Taylor

The following staff were also in attendance:

Karina Ewer (Chief Executive Officer), Matthew Hansen (Deputy CEO), Rohit Srivastava (Director Infrastructure), Andrew Fletcher (Director Strategic Planning & Development), Keelan McDonald (Executive Assistant)

1 OPENING OF MEETING

The Council opened its meeting at 9:01am.

Mayor Hannan read the following statement:

In the spirit of open, accessible and transparent government, Berrigan Shire Council's are audio recorded. By speaking at a Council Meeting, members of the public agree to being recorded. Berrigan Shire Council accepts no liability for any defamatory, discriminatory or offensive remarks or gestures that are made during the course of the Council. Opinions expressed or statements made by individuals are the opinions or statements of those individuals and do not imply any form of endorsement by Berrigan Shire Council.

Confidential matters of Council will not be audio recorded.

Recordings are protected by copyright and owner by Berrigan Shire Council. No part may be copied, recorded, reproduced or transmitted without the prior written consent of the Chief Executive Officer. Any recording is not, and shall not, be taken to be an official record of Berrigan Shire Council or discussion depicted therein. Only the official minutes may be relied upon as an official record of the meeting.

An audio recording of the Council Meeting will be taken for administrative and minute preparation purposes only and is provided to the public for listening purposes to support Council's statutory obligations.

2 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

Mayor Hannan made an Acknowledgement of Country with the following statement:

"We acknowledge the original inhabitants whose country we are gathered on, and we pay respect to the elders, past, present, and future and extend respect to all first nations people."



3	APOLOGIES AND APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE OR ATTENDANCE
	VIA AUDIO-VISUAL LINK BY COUNCILLORS

3.1 Apologies/Leave of Absence

Cr Roger Renynoldson – Leave of Absence

3.2 Attendance Via Audio-Visual Link

4 DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

5 REPORTS TO COUNCIL

5.1 Mayor's report

Resolved ECM-218/23

Moved: Cr John Taylor

Seconded: Deputy Mayor Carly Marriott

That the Mayor's report for the period January 2022 to September 2023 be received and noted.

CARRIED

5.2 Chief Executive Officer's report

Resolved ECM-219/23

Moved: Cr John Taylor

Seconded: Deputy Mayor Carly Marriott

That the Chief Executive Officer's report for the period January 2022 to September 2023 be received and noted.

CARRIED



5.3 Returning Officer's report

Resolved ECM-220/23

Moved: Deputy Mayor Carly Marriott

Seconded: Cr Renee Paine

That any ballot required to fill the position of Mayor or Deputy Mayor be held by secret ballot under a preferential voting system.

CARRIED

5.4 Election of Mayor

Resolved ECM-221/23

Moved: Deputy Mayor Carly Marriott

Seconded: Cr Renee Paine

That the election for the position of Mayor for Berrigan Shire for the period ending on 14 September 2024 be conducted.

CARRIED

The Election of Mayor took place via ballot voting.

All Councillors submitted their ballot papers.

Karina Ewer (Chief Executive Officer) and Matt Hansen (Deputy Chief Executive Officer) left the Council Chambers to count the votes.

Karina Ewer and Matt Hansen returned to the Council Chambers and announced the following:

Cr Matthew Hannan: 3 votes Cr Julia Cornwell McKean: 4 votes

Cr Julia Cornwell McKean was elected as Mayor of Berrigan Shire Council.

5.5 Election of Deputy Mayor

Resolved ECM-222/23

Moved: Deputy Mayor Carly Marriott

Seconded: Cr Renee Paine



That the election for the position of Deputy Mayor for Berrigan Shire for the period ending 14 September 2024 be conducted.

CARRIED

Cr Carly Marriott ran unopposed as Deputy Mayor of Berrigan Shire Council.

Cr Carly Marriott was re-elected Deputy Mayor of Berrigan Shire Council.

5.6 Delegates to committees

Resolved ECM-223/23

Moved: Deputy Mayor Carly Marriott

Seconded: Cr Renee Paine

That Council:

- 1. delegate the following Councillors to attend the meetings of each of the following Section 355 Committees:
 - Cr Carly Marriott to attend the Barooga Recreation Reserve;
 - Cr Ted Hatty to attend the Tocumwal Swimming Pool Committee of Management;
 - Cr Ted Hatty to attend the Tocumwal War Memorial Hall Committee of Management;
 - Cr Julia Cornwell McKean & Cr Ted Hatty to attend the Tocumwal Foreshore Committee;
 - Cr John Taylor to attend the Finley Recreation Reserve Committee of Management;
 - Cr Sarah McNaught to attend the Finley Showground and Sporting Complex Committee of Management;
 - Cr Matthew Hannan to attend the Finley Tidy Towns Committee of Management;
 - Cr Sarah McNaught to attend the Finley War Memorial Swimming Pool Committee of Management; and
 - Cr Renee Paine to attend the Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee
- 2. delegate Cr Carly Marriott to attend the meetings of the Barooga ARC consultative committee as part of Council's commitment to the Memorandum of Understanding with Sporties;
- 3. delegate the following Councillors to attend the meetings of each of the following external bodies:
 - Cr Carly Marriott to attend the Traffic Committee;
 - Cr Roger Reynoldson to attend the Rural Fire Service District Liaison Committee;
 - Cr Roger Reynoldson to attend the Bush Fire Management Committee;
 - The Mayor and CEO to attend the RAMJO meetings with the Deputy Mayor to be nominated as proxy for the Mayor;



- Cr Carly Marriott to attend the Public Libraries New South Wales;
- Cr Sarah McNaught to attend the Western Joint Regional Planning Panel; and
- Cr Ted Hatty to attend the Yarrawonga to Torrumbarry River Reach Stakeholder Group

CARRIED

6 CONCLUSION OF MEETING

There being no further business the President, closed the meeting at 9:18am.