Wednesday, July 08, 2020
Berrigan Shire Council

Information about Coronavirus and Berrigan Shire Council

COVID 19 Service Update - Border Crossings

From Wednesday 8 July, NSW will temporarily shut its border with Victoria to contain the spread of COVID-19 and to protect the health and jobs of NSW citizens.

If you're travelling from Victoria to NSW, you'll need a COVID-19 NSW border declaration permit.

More information, including details on how to apply for a permit, will be available via Service NSW website here.

The table below details the border crossings that will be open for those with permits, along with those that are closed and the suggested detour crossing points.

Please remember that lengthy delays are expected at the check points.  Information will be updated if the situation changes.

Bridge name


Tocumwal Bridge

Open - Check Point

Cobram Barooga Bridge

Open - Check Point



Berrigan Shire is situated in the Southern Riverina and consists predominantly of irrigated rural land, therefore its main income is derived from the agriculture industry. Berrigan Shire is located to the north of the Murray River, half way between Albury and Echuca.

The council boundaries encompass the towns of Barooga, Berrigan, Finley and Tocumwal which offer a range of first class lifestyle opportunities including recreation, health and education facilities.We welcome you to our website and hope you take the time to explore the site and learn more about Berrigan Shire Council.


Contact Us

(03) 5888 5100
(03) 5885 2092
56 Chanter Street, Berrigan, NSW, 2712

Hours of Operation

The Berrigan Shire Council is open:

8am to 5pm Monday to Friday

The Bendigo Bank – Berrigan Agency is open:


1:30pm to 3:30pm Monday to Friday

Closed on public holidays