Audit, Risk, and Improvement Committee

Berrigan Shire Council (the Council) has established an Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee (the Committee) in compliance with section 428A of the Local Government Act 1993 and clauses of the Local Government (General) Regulation 2005

The objective of the Council’s Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee is to provide independent assurance to the Council by monitoring, reviewing and providing advice about Council’s governance processes, compliance, risk management and control frameworks, external accountability obligations and overall performance.

Linda MacRae – Chairperson

Linda has Local Government and teaching qualifications. She has been involved as an Independent Member of Audit and Risk Committees’ for 17 years with her experience including the Department of Transport (Victoria), several metropolitan as well as regional and rural Councils’ and she is currently Chair of five Local Government Audit and Risk Committees’ in NSW and Victoria. Linda has extensive senior management Local Government experience, with a career spanning over 30 years, in the critical areas of corporate services; financial management; information technology and governance. Linda also has significant experience in the education sector, holding senior lecture positions at RMIT and Deakin Universities. Linda was the President of the Victorian Local Government Financial Professionals (LGFinPro) for six consecutive years and a Vice President for five years.

As Chair of the Berrigan Council’s Audit Risk and Improvement Committee (ARIC),  Linda brings her significant experience to the Committee to assist it to meet the objectives and outcomes that are contained in the Committee’s Terms of Reference.


Todd Bentley – Independent Member

Dr. Todd Bentley is an experienced executive leader, specialising in risk, safety, assurance, and systems design.  These specialisations, along with related senior roles in transport, construction, and policy and regulation, bring an array of perspectives to support and contribute to Berrigan Shire through the Audit, Risk, and Improvement Committee.  Todd has a strong focus on continual improvement of systems and appreciates the balance of risk in all activities.  Todd has a PhD in human factors, holds an appointment as an Adjunct Associate Professor at La Trobe University, is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and is a Certified Professional Ergonomist.



Angela Urquhart – Independent Member

Currently Angela lives in the Berrigan Shire and has experience in Financial Management, Governance, and Local Government.  Angela is an active member of the community and is committed to ensuring the community's wellbeing by assisting Council in making well informed decisions that are transparent and accountable. Angela has 20 years of financial management experience within Local Government, Not for Profit, and Private Enterprise and has gained strong financial qualifications and skills. Given Angela’s financial knowledge, Angela has taken lead roles with both the Rice Growers Association and Biralee in relation to the financial management and audit functions. Angela’s involvement in these roles has provided great insight into governance, leadership, and financial management.  


Renee Paine - Councillor Representative


See the Committee's Terms of Reference here.(PDF, 277KB)